Newcomer / Intro Newbie questions: Mining and exploration

Hello commanders.

I am new in the game, have been playing for a week more or less and I think I love it. I am doing my best with the learning curve, but I have two questions I can't yet figure out. Maybe someone can help me? :)

1- MINING: So I am learning the mining basics and I decided that I could try to help my faction in the community goal and bring some palladium. Problem is, I have no clue how to find it. I have learned all the "look for metallic pristine rings or asteroids". But when I get there, I can't find palladium. So my question is, is there a way to look (and mine, not buy) some specific mineral?

2- EXPLORATION: I have joined the alliance, and I have been doing quests near their main system, Gateway. I was surprised when I found inexplored systems around there, I thought that here in the "core" systems, everything would be already explored and well documented. Is there some concept I am missing?

Thank you so much ^^

Apart from Hotspots findable using the Detailed Surface Scanner there is no way to localise anything in a ring which is why mining for anything specific is a pain.

Systems that aren't in your ships database will show up as unexplored when you first visit them and Cartography will pay you for the information you gather but from their point of view it is conformation not a first discovery.

1- MINING: ....... palladium. .........

2- EXPLORATION: I have joined the alliance, and I have been doing quests near their main system, Gateway. I was surprised when I found inexplored systems around there, I thought that here in the "core" systems, everything would be already explored and well documented. Is there some concept I am missing?